e-News signup form

News » AZ Golf e-News
July 16, 2018 by pgarcia

The Southwest PGA Match Play Championship

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. – July 13, 2018 – The 2018 Southwest PGA Match Play Championship is scheduled to take place July 16-18 at Ancala Country Club in Scottsdale, Ariz. The Section’s first major of the season begins with 60 Southwest PGA Professionals competing in a 64-player field bracket. The top four seeds received opening round byes – Michael Hopper (1), Dennis Downs (2), Matt VanCleave (3) and Craig Hocknull (4).


Defending champion, and the top seed, Hopper, 34, PGA Assistant Golf Professional at Lookout Mountain Golf Club in Phoenix, Ariz., will attempt to win his third consecutive, and fourth overall, Southwest PGA match play title (2011, 2016, 2017). Last year he defeated Marty Jertson, 37, PGA Professional and Director of Product Development for PING Golf, 1-up in the final match at Desert Forest Golf Club in Carefree, Ariz.


“I’m really looking forward to the Match Play Championship as it’s certainly one of my favorite events, if not my favorite event, to play every year,” said Hopper. “This year’s venue, Ancala Country Club, is a perfect match play golf course that could will make for some exciting finishes. I am fortunate to be the top seed but there are a lot of great players in the field and anything can happen in match play.”


This year’s field consists includes eight past champions – Chris Dompier (2010), Chris Enders (1995, 1998), Brandon Evans (2014), Hocknull (2013), Hopper, D.K. Kim (2015), Paul Trittler (2004) and Randy Wittig (2002).


The Championship gets underway with the opening round matches on Monday, July 16 at 7:30 a.m. followed by second round matches at 1:00 p.m. The round of 16 and quarterfinal matches are scheduled for Tuesday, July 17 at 7:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m., respectively. The semi-final and final matches are slated for Wednesday, July 18 at 7:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m., respectively.


With a win, Hopper would join John Jackson (1976, 1978, 1988, 1993) with the most victories in the history of the Championship. Hopper, Jackson and Tom Tatum (1982, 1985, 1992) are the only Professionals to win three or more Match Play titles. Last year Hopper became the first player to win consecutive crowns since Frank Boynton accomplished the feat (1979, 1980).


Greg Norman Collection and the PGA Tour are sponsors of the Match Play Championship.


About The Southwest Section PGA:

The Southwest Section of the PGA of America is a professional organization serving the men and women golf professionals in Arizona and Southern Nevada who are the recognized experts in growing, teaching and managing the game of golf. The Southwest PGA is responsible for the administration of competitive golf tournaments, junior golf programs and events, educational opportunities, support programs and growth of the game initiatives. With 1284 members and apprentices, the Southwest PGA is the fifth largest of the 41 regional entities or Sections that comprise the PGA of America.  For more information about the Southwest PGA, please visit www.southwestpga.com and join us on social media at www.facebook.com/swsectionpga, twitter.com/swsectionpga and www.instagram.com/southwestpga.


Past Champions

1974, John Bulla

1975, Dennis Troy

1976, John Jackson

1977, Terry Dear

1978, John Jackson

1979, Frank Boynton

1980, Frank Boynton

1981, Bruce Ashworth

1982, Tom Tatum

1983, Bruce Ashworth

1984, Bob Phillips

1985, Tom Tatum

1986, Steve Jones

1987, Doug Hoskins

1988, John Jackson

1989, Doug Hoskins

1990, John Dodd

1991, Jay Lumpkin

1992, Tom Tatum

1993, John Jackson

1994, Mark Gurnow

1995, Chris Enders

1996, Mike Wright

1997, Greg Avant

1998, Chris Enders

1999, Bob Blean

2000, Dennis LeDonne

2001, Mike Schwartz

2002, Randy Wittig

2003, Dean Vomacka

2004, Paul Trittler

2005, Don Yrene

2006, Ken Carpenter

2007, Not Contested

2008, Not Contested

2009, Drew Reid

2010, Chris Dompier

2011, Michael Hopper

2012, Glen Griffith

2013, Craig Hocknull

2014, Brandon Evans

2015, Dong Kyu "DK" Kim

2016, Michael Hopper

2017, Michael Hopper


Multiple Victories

John Jackson (1976, 1978, 1988, 1993)

Michael Hopper (2011, 2016, 2017)

Tom Tatum (1982, 1985, 1992)

Bruce Ashworth (1981, 1983)

Frank Boynton (1979, 1980)

Chris Enders (1995, 1998)

Doug Hoskins (1987, 1989)