News »
February 16, 2018 by Joselyn

2018 AGA Player Awards Winners

Please join us for the 2018 Annual Meeting and Awards dinner to be held Thursday, February 15th at Phoenix Country Club. The meeting begins at 4:15pm. If you just want to join us for the Awards dinner, that begins with cocktails @ 5:00pm and dinner at 6:00 pm. Those who received an invitation to join us, the evening is compliments of the Arizona Golf Association. The cost for guests and other interested members is $40.00. 

Click below for more information about the Annual Meeting.

(Upon Request)


Updegraff Award

Tina Tombs 

The Updegraff Award is presented to the person who, "By his or her actions and accomplishments exemplify the Spirit of the Game."

Player of the Year

Mason Andersen

Those eligible for Player of the Year include the winners of Individual Majors, the Mayfair Award, and Players Cup Points List are eligible, provided the player has competed in two (2) AGA events. The Player of the Year will be chosen by the Tournament Committee based on having won
(a) a second major championship; 
(b) Players Cup Points or Mayfair; 
(c) and then by Performance in USGA Qualifiers and Championships.

Divisional Players of the Year

Masters Division - Jeff Benton

Senior Division - Rusty Brown

Legends Division - Tim Blau

The Tournament Commitee will choose Divisional Players of the Year from winners of Divisional Majors and the Divisional Players Cup Points list, providing they have competed in two (2) Divisional Events or one (1) Divisional event and two (2) other AGA events. Players of the Year will be chosen based first on performance in Divisional Majors and secondly on performance in other Divisional events.

Mayfair Award

Ken Tanigawa 

The Mayfair Trophy was created in 1988 to be awarded to the Member with the lowest weighted scoring average at the end of each year. To be eligible, a player must complete in at least one USGA qualifying round in Arizona and at least two AGA individual major championships; or, compete in at least one USGA qualifying round in Arizona, at least one AGA individual major championship and a collegiate championship in Arizona. Withdrawal after beginning play in a qualifying event voids eligibility.

Additional individual competitions that count toward this award are the Pacific Coast Amateur, the Southwestern Amateur when contested in AZ, AZ Open, ASU Thunderbird Invitational and the US Open, Amateur, & Mid-Amateur. A contestant must return a minimum of twelve 18-hole scores from all above listed competitions. All rounds will be used to determine the scoring average.

Volunteer of the Year

Robin Farran

Each year the staff of the AGA honors an individual (other than an Executive Committee member) who most exemplifies volunteerism through his or her commitment of time and effort to the association.  In 2010 this award was names after Robert Graves, a long-time AGA volunteer who exemplifies the selfless contributions of time and dedication to serving golf in Arizona.

Honorary Captain Award

Tim Hulscher

The Honorable Company of Edinburgh Golfers established the first Rules of Golf in 1774.  These thirteen rules have formed the basis for the Game.  Until 1891, when the R&A became the source for the Rules of Golf, each club appointed an honorary Captain to administer the rules, oversee the club's competitions, and settle all game disputes.