e-News signup form

News » AGA News

March 04, 2010 by Lorraine Thies

McDaniel grabs first-round lead at AZ Publinks Championship

David McDaniel of Tucson shot a six-under 64 to take a three-shot lead over Oro Valley’s Bill Berkeihser after the first round of play at the Arizona Publinks Championship being contested at Randolph North Golf Complex March 5 -7. 

read more »

March 01, 2010 by Lorraine Thies

Doug MacDonald to be named 2010 Updegraff Award winner

Doug MacDonald, the Emeritus Professional at Desert Forest Golf Club, and long time Southwest Section PGA member has been chosen to receive the AGA's 2010 Dr. Ed Updegraff Award to be presented March 4 at Phoenix Country Club.

read more »

March 01, 2010 by Lorraine Thies

Dennis Walsh Named 2009 Volunteer of the Year

Dennis Walsh, a retired information technology specialist in the banking industry was named the 2009 Arizona Golf Association Volunteer of the Year. The award will be presented at the annual spring banquet March 4 at Phoenix Country Club.

read more »

February 28, 2010 by Lorraine Thies

Michael Wog II set to defend Publinks title

Michael Wog II of Scottsdale, the 2009 Arizona Golf Association Player of the Year, is set to defend his title at the Arizona Publinks Championship to be held at Randolph North Golf Course in Tucson March 5 – 7. He will be joined by 143 elite amateur golfers in the state in the first AGA major championship of the year. The format for the Championship will be 54 holes of individual stroke play at gross with a cut after 36 holes to the low 60 + ties. 

read more »

February 23, 2010 by Lorraine Thies

Arizona Stroke Play Championship preview

The Arizona Golf Association’s Stroke Play Championship, one of four major amateur championships held annually in the state, has found success with its new home at the TPC Scottsdale – Champions Course. The event, which was moved to the Champions Course in 2008, is the only major of the year to have a permanent home. The 2010 event will feature a field of 144 players and the 72-hole championship will have a 36-hole cut to the low 60 players and ties. The championship is open to all AGA amateur members. Two qualifying tournaments will be held for the championship, March 16 at Stone Creek and March 24 at Tucson National.

read more »

February 07, 2010 by Lorraine Thies

Montplaisir captures 2010 East Valley Short Course title

Larry Montplaisir, from Gilbert, led wire-to-wire to take his first AGA individual tournament title at the 2010 East Valley Short Course, with a total of 19 points. The event, taking place at Augusta Ranch Golf Club, is one of the more popular events on the AGA tournament schedule. 

read more »

January 31, 2010 by Lorraine Thies

Introducing ACCESS AZgolf

The Arizona Golf Association (AGA) the state’s largest association focused solely on amateur golfers introduces, Access AZGolf, a new membership program that is specifically designed for the occasional and recreational golfer looking for exclusive access to private clubs along with discounts and savings on golf, equipment and apparel, travel, restaurants and much more. 

read more »

January 03, 2010 by Lorraine Thies

AGA Announces 2009 Player Awards

Michael Wog II of Scottsdale earned AGA Player of the Year honors, while David McDaniel of Tucson captured the Mayfair Award for lowest stroke average. In addition, Divisional Player of the Year awards were garnered by Pat Geare (Masters) of Tucson, Frank Ellenburg (Senior) of Chandler and Jamie Gough (Legends) of Phoenix. The awards will be formally presented at the AGA Spring Meeting and Awards Banquet on March 4.

read more »

Page 23 of 23