2018 Team Events

April 16-21, 2018Lima Golf Club Lima, Peru
Two players will represent the Arizona Golf Association with 23 other countries/associations. The 72-hole competition is a team event counting all four rounds for each player, the total being the Team score. Bonus Players Cup Points are available. The AGA is one of four to six North American teams invited. The cost per player is determined annually. For 2018 the players’ contribution is the airfare.  AGA covers the $650 entry fee, uniforms, room, local transfers, meals and caddie fees. If a player desires to take a guest, the room cost will be that of a single room for all six nights, determined at the time of the request when a deposit must be made. Hotel Information: Team members are determined by invitation of the Trustees. Contact the AGA for consideration.
July 24-27, 2018The Olympic ClubSan Francisco, CA
The AGA will host three players, one from a 36-hole qualifier and two players selected by the Pacific Coast Trustees from Arizona Association members as of June 1, 2018. The Pacific Coast Amateur Committee has directed that each Association field a team of their best players using the WAGR and/or Scratch Players list. The selected players will receive uniforms and the entry fee paid by the Committee.  In addition, each player will receive a travel stipend determined by the Trustees. 
Date: October 7-9, 2018  Flagstaff Ranch Golf ClubFlagstaff, AZ
The Arizona team is comprised of eight at-large, two seniors (50 yrs +) & two women. The following selection criteria will be used: Automatic Selection – The top eight TPA members based on Open Points and top two on Senior Points. Any remaining places will be filled from the respective Players Points List by staff. The women will be selected by AGA staff based on criteria including past performance in individual competitions. 
December 2-7, 2018Reflection Bay Golf ClubLas Vegas, Nevada
Arizona Teams are comprised of four players. A minimum of two must be 50 years of age or older. Players are selected by the SW Team Committee Chairman (or his designee) by invitation. Interested players may contact the AGA Staff for more information. A player stipend is contributed by AGA for its team(s), though other players may arrange additional teams at their own expense.
September 17, 2018Phoenix Country Club
Two Teams of twelve players each, Open and Senior, will be filled according to the following criteria:
Eligibility: TPA membership and placement on the respective Points Lists as of August 24, 2018. In advance of the deadline for qualification, top players in the Points lists will be solicited for interest in competing on the Teams as of August 1st.
Open Team Automatic Selection – the top-10 TPA players based on point total from the combined Open and Masters Players Cup Points Lists will receive automatic team births.
Senior Team Automatic Selection – the Senior Team is the top two TPA players on the Senior Points List, top two TPA players on the Super Senior Points List and the remaining 8 spots are filled based on overall point total of the combined Senior and Super Senior Players Cup Points Lists.
If any player in this category cannot play or declines the invitation to play, that position will be returned to the Tournament Committee for selection based on the Players Points list and performance in multiple events. The Tournament Committee will complete the teams at its discretion from the AGA membership.
Team Captains: The Player with the highest total on the respective combined Players Cup Points List will be the captain for that team. Captains Selections: Each captain shall have one selection to the team from AGA members without restriction.
Team uniforms and expenses are included in the invitation. A dinner honoring Bob Goldwater is considered a mandatory part of the event.


Annual Player Award Criteria

Arizona Golf Hall of Fame
Each year the Arizona Golf Foundation Hall of Fame Selectors Committee, with representatives from the non-profit golf associations within Arizona reviews candidates for the Arizona Golf Hall of Fame, with the Award presented to selected individuals based on ballots returned from the Hall of Fame Voting Delegates. The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony is normally held the Monday of Thanksgiving week.
Players of the Year
The AGA Players of the Year Awards were established in 1986 to recognize the player who, during a current AGA Tour season, has the most consistent and outstanding record. Awards are given in each Division.

Player of the Year: The top 3 positions on the Year End Players Cup Points list will be eligible for consideration by the Tournament Committee to vote from. Supplementary accomplishments to be considered for selecting the Player of the Year: a) make match play or a top 10 finish in the USGA or R&A Championship. b) win an individual Major AGA Championship. c) Be the Mayfair Award winner (based on open event scoring average only)

In addition, any player for consideration must have competed in a minimum of five (5) AGA Open events, or three (3) AGA Open Major Championships to be eligible.
2. Divisional Players of the Year: The Player of the Year within each Division will be determined by the year-long “Players Cup Points” winner in each Division, to include Masters, Seniors, Super Seniors and Legends. Points for year-end total for each Division will be an aggregate of ALL points earned from ANY event played, including OPEN events.
3. Updegraff Award: The Updegraff Award is the AGA’s highest recognition, given annually, honoring the Arizona golfer “who by his/her actions or accomplishments exemplifies the Spirit of the Game.
Mayfair Award
The Mayfair Trophy was created in 1988 to be awarded to the Member with the lowest weighted scoring average at the end of each year. To be eligible, a player must complete in at least:

One USGA Qualifying round in Arizona and at least two AGA Open Major Championships; or
Compete in at least one USGA Qualifying round in Arizona, at least one AGA Open Major Championship and a collegiate championship in Arizona.

*Withdrawal for any reason after beginning play in a qualifying event voids eligibility.
Events for inclusion: AGA TOUR Events (Open Division only), USGA Qualifiers hosted in Arizona, USGA Championships (if applicable, stoke play rounds only), Collegiate Championships of Arizona Schools: ASU, U of A, & GCU, Southwestern Amateur (when hosted in Arizona), Pacific Coast Amateur & Arizona Open. 
Champion of Golf Award
The Champion of Golf Award is given annually to a person “who by his or her accomplishments has unselfishly created lasting benefit to the Game of Golf in Arizona”.
Doc Graves Volunteer of the Year Award
The Doc Graves Award is presented by AGA staff annually to a person whose volunteer hours and contributions have creating lasting benefit to the AGA and its members.
Honorary Captain Award
Ever since the dawn of the Rules of Golf in 1744 clubs have selected Captains to oversee the Rules and Competitions during a given year. At the suggestion of AGA and Gallery Golf Club member Charlie Horn, the AGA inaugurated the Honorary Captain Award in 2013 to recognize those with dedicated Rules Official service to the AGA and its Championships. The Honorary Captain serves as Senior Rules Committee Member at AGA Championships.