Annual Player Award Criteria

Player of the Year

The AGA Players of the Year Awards were established in 1986 to recognize the player who, during a current AGA Tour season, has the most consistent and outstanding record. Awards are given in each Division.

  1. Player of the Year: The top 3 positions on the Year End Players Cup Points list will be eligible for consideration by the Tournament Committee. Supplementary accomplishments to be considered for selecting the Player of the Year:
    • Qualify for match play or a top 10 finish in a USGA or R&A Championship
    • Winners of AGA Major Championships
    • Mayfair Award Winner
    • Minimum participation to qualify for consideration: five AGA Open events or three AGA Open Major Championships to be eligible.
  2. Divisional Players of the Year: The Player of the Year within each Division will be determined by the year-long “Players Cup Points” winner in each Division, to include Masters, Seniors, Super Seniors and Legends. Points for year-end total for each Division will be an aggregate of ALL points earned from ANY event played, including OPEN events.

Updegraff Award

The Updegraff Award is the AGA’s highest recognition, given annually, honoring the Arizona golfer “who by his/her actions or accomplishments exemplifies the Spirit of the Game.”

Mayfair Award

The Mayfair Award was created in 1988 to honor the Member with the lowest weighted scoring average at the end of each year. To be eligible, a player must complete in at least:

  1. One USGA Qualifying round in Arizona and at least two AGA Open Major Championships or
  2. Compete in at least one USGA Qualifying round in Arizona, at least one AGA Open Major Championship and a collegiate championship in Arizona.
  3. *Withdrawal for any reason after beginning play in a qualifying event voids eligibility.

Events for inclusion: AGA TOUR Events (Open Division only), USGA Qualifiers hosted in Arizona, USGA Championships (if applicable, stoke play rounds only), Collegiate Championships of Arizona Schools: ASU, U of A, & GCU; Southwestern Amateur (when hosted in Arizona); Pacific Coast Amateur; Arizona Open.

Champion of Golf Award

The Champion of Golf Award is given annually to a person “who by his or her accomplishments has unselfishly contributed to the Game of Golf in Arizona”.

Doc Graves Volunteer of the Year Award

The Doc Graves Award is presented by AGA staff annually to a person whose volunteer hours and contributions have creating lasting benefit to the AGA and its members.

Honorary Captain Award

The Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers established the first Rules of Golf in 1744. These thirteen rules have formed the basis for the Game as we know it including both language and philosophies that haven’t changed greatly in the passing 275 years. Until 1891, when the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews became the sole-source for the Rules of Golf, each club appointed a Captain to administer the rules, oversee the club’s competitions, and settle all game disputes.

In honor of this Tradition, and thanks to the ingenuity and generosity of AGA member Charlie Horn, the Arizona Golf Association recognizes a person annually for his or her many years of service to the game, and for his or her passion and dedication to the principles of the Rules of Golf.