Brandon Genson
AGA Communications Manager
[email protected]

SCOTTSDALE – The Arizona Golf Association is proud to announce its annual award winners, set to be given to the respective winners Wednesday, February 22, 2023 at the Annual Meeting, hosted by Phoenix Country Club.

Throughout the year men and women compete across their respective divisions in hopes of landing on top of the AGA Player Rankings. Players who find themselves at the top of the rankings become part of Arizona Golf history, earning the coveted AGA Player of the Year Award for each division. These awards are given out alongside four other service awards, which are granted to individuals or organizations who have exemplified selfless commitment and contribution to golf in Arizona. Those service awards come in the form of the Dr. Ed Updegraff Award, the Dorothy Pease Achievement Award, the Doc Graves Volunteer of the Year Award and the Champion of Golf Award.
Continue reading to learn more about the awards, honorees and their accomplishments.

Chris Kamin – Men’s & Masters Division Player of the Year

● Arizona Stroke Play Champion
● Arizona Mid-Am Champion
● Northern Amateur Champion
● Players Cup Champion
● Pacific Coast Amateur Team
● 61st Bob Goldwater Cup Team
● Arizona vs. Utah Shootout Team
● Qualified For the U.S. Amateur
● Qualified For the U.S. Mid-Am
● Arizona Open (made cut and finished 7th in Amateur Division)

Tori Totlis – Women’s Player of the Year

● Women’s Short Course T3
● Women’s Season Opener T2 (team event)
● Women’s Four-Ball Championship 2nd
● Women’s Mid-Am Runner Up
● Women’s Scotch Play Champion (team event)
● Women’s Partners 2nd Place (team event)
● Women’s Match Play Runner Up
● Arizona vs. Utah Shootout Team
● Women’s Players Cup 4th Place

Alex Stamey – Men’s Division Senior Player of the Year

● San Tan Amateur Senior Division Champion
● Arizona Divisional Match Play Senior Division Champion
● Arizona Four-Ball Senior Division Champion
● Northern Amateur Senior Division Champion
● Players Cup Senior Division Champion

Tim Blau – Men’s Legends Division Player of the Year

● San Tan Amateur Legends Division Runner Up
● Falcon Amateur Legends Division Runner Up
● Arizona Divisional Stroke Play Legends Division Champion
● Southern Amateur Legends Division T5
● Arizona Divisional Match Play Legends Division Champion
● Northern Amateur Legends Division 4th Place
● 61st Bob Goldwater Cup Team
● Players Cup Legends Division Runner Up

Robin Krapfl – Women’s Senior Division Player of the Year

● Women’s Short Course 2nd Place
● Women’s Season Opener 5th Place (team event)
● Women’s Four-Ball Championship 5th
● Earned an exemption into the U.S. Senior Women’s Amateur Championship
● U.S. Senior Women’s Amateur Championship – Round of 64
● Women’s State Senior Stroke Play 2nd Place
● Women’s Scotch Play 4th (team event)
● Women’s Partners 3rd Place (team event)
● Players Cup Women’s Senior Division 3rd Place
● Arizona vs. Utah Shootout Team
● Senior Women’s Match Play – Consolation Champion

Chris Kamin – Mayfair Award
The Mayfair Trophy was created in 1988 to be awarded to the AGA Member with the lowest weighted tournament scoring average at the end of each year. To be eligible, a player must compete in at least one USGA qualifying round in Arizona and at least two AGA individual major championships; or, compete in at least one USGA qualifying round in Arizona, at least one AGA individual major championship and a collegiate championship in Arizona. All scores count towards the adjusted average.
After a great tournament season, Chris captured his first Mayfair Award with an adjusted scoring average of 68.51.
John Parker – Dr. Ed Updegraff Award

Established in 1990, the Updegraff Award is the Arizona Golf Association’s highest honor, given in recognition of those who, by their actions, exemplify the Spirit of the Game. The award is named after Dr. Ed Updegraff of Tucson, honoring his lifetime contributions and dedication to amateur golf in Arizona.

Marta Felix – Dorothy Pease Achievement Award

The Dorothy Pease Achievement award was established in 2011 to honor the memory of Dorothy Pease,
and to recognize the contributions to golf by the outstanding women who have followed in her footsteps.

Jay Anderson – Champion of Golf Award

In recognition of selfless lifetime service to the Game of Golf in Arizona, the Champion of Golf Award is given annually to a person who, by his or her accomplishments, has created lasting benefit to the game.

Ellen O’Hara – Doc Graves Volunteer of the Year Award

Each year the staff of the AGA honors an individual (other than an Executive Committee member) who most exemplifies volunteerism through his or her commitment of time and effort to the association. In 2010 this award was named after Robert Graves, a long-time AGA volunteer who exemplifies the selfless contributions of time and dedication to serving golf in Arizona.