Preview: San Tan Amateur at Oakwood Country Club

A view of Oakwood CC's tee box area with green grass and sparse bushes.

February 26-27, 84 players will tee off in the 2022 San Tan Amateur at Oakwood Country Club in Sun Lakes, Arizona. Oakwood consist of three 9-hole courses (Lakes, Palms, Sonoran). Starting at 9:00a.m. for each round, this 18-hole amateur competition will be played on the Lakes 9 and Palms 9 course. The course is playing as a par 72 with different tees for Open/Masters, Senior, and Legends. This is the first time the event will be divisional, marking four eventual champions Sunday afternoon.

Division breakdown:
Open Division (no age restriction) = 45 players
Masters Division (40+ years old) = 18 players
Senior Division (55+ years old) = 15 players
Legends Division (65+ years old) = 6 players

Past Champions at the San Tan Amateur:

John Bearrie – 2021 

Adam Walicki – 2020 

Noah Hofman – 2019 

Parings this week:
Results this week:


RELATED: Men’s Tournament Schedule

About the San Tan Amateur: The San Tan Amateur is part of the all encompassing “AGA Tour” of events. The “AGA Tour” is made up of all competitive events/tournaments held by the Arizona Golf Association.  Events such as the AZ Short Course, Northern Amateur, Southern Amateur, and more. The AGA Tour also includes AGA Championship events such as the AGA Championship, Stroke Play Championship, and Arizona Amateur Championship among others. Playing in these events will accumulate points which will determine the Player of the Season and Mayfair Award winner at the conclusion of the competitive season.