Field Set for First AGA Major of the Year

By Brianna Gianiorio

The field of the 32nd Arizona Golf Association Championship, formerly known as the AZ Publinks, is set, with 144 of the region’s top amateur players battling for a Kachina trophy at Aguila Golf Course in Phoenix March 12-14.

The 54-hole event begins Friday morning, and the low 60 players and ties will advance to Sunday’s Final round.

The Arizona Golf Association is set to conduct the AGA Championship for the 32nd consecutive year starting Friday at Aguila Golf Course in Phoenix.

The 54-hole event will begin on Friday morning, where 144 amateur golfers from around the valley will tee it up for the opening round. The following 18 holes on Saturday will determine the low 60 players and ties who will advance to the final round on Sunday.

Player Highlights

Two Past Champions:

  • 2018 Champion Rusty Brown and 2020 Champion Sean O’Donnell will attempt to win a second AGA Championship title this weekend. Defending Champion O’Donnell ran away with the title last year after an impressive final round 66. O’Donnell already picked up a win this season at the 2021 AGA Short Course. Brown, the 2020 Senior Player of the Year, managed six top-five finishes and a win in the Senior Division of the AGA Championship during the 2020 season.

Two AGA Players of the Year:

  • Three-time AGA Player of the Year Bryan Hoops is ready to make a run for his 13th AGA Major title. Hoop’s resume includes two Arizona Senior Match Play titles, three Arizona Four-Ball titles, three Arizona Mid-Amateur titles and a four Arizona Senior Stroke Play titles. Last season, Hoops posted three top-four finishes and a win at the Arizona Mid-Amateur. Two-time AGA Player of the Year, Adam Walicki will compete for his first AGA Championship victory. Walicki notched two top-5 finishes and a win at the 2020 Players Cup Championship

2020 Mayfair Award Winner:

  • Chris Kamin, who recorded a 69.3 weighted scoring average during 2020 to pick up to 2020 Mayfair Award, has already managed two top-six finishes in the first two events of the season. Kamin’s impressive 2020 season highlights include a win at the 2020 Northern Amateur and a runner-up finish at the 96th Arizona Amateur, held at Desert Forest Golf Club.


Championship Course
Aguila Golf Course | Laveen, Arizona

Championship Yardage
6,855 yards/Par 70

Dates of Championship
March 12-14, 2021

Tournament Record Score
2019 Champion George Markham – 14-under 

Hole by Hole
Hole 1: 409 yards (Par 4)
Hole 2: 565 yards (Par 5)
Hole 3: 175 yards (Par 3)
Hole 4: 462 yards (Par 4)
Hole 5: 444 yards (Par 4)
Hole 6: 377 yards (Par 4)
Hole 7: 190 yards (Par 3)
Hole 8: 309 yards (Par 4)
Hole 9: 454 yards (Par 4)

OUT: 3,385 yards (Par 35)

Hole 10: 466 yards (Par 4)
Hole 11: 411 yards (Par 4)
Hole 12: 460 yards (Par 4)
Hole 13: 138 yards (Par 3)
Hole 14: 392 yards (Par 4)
Hole 15: 601 yards (Par 5)
Hole 16: 197  yards (Par 3)
Hole 17: 334  yards (Par 4)
Hole 18: 471 yards (Par 4)

IN: 3,470 yards (Par 35))

TOTAL: 6,855 yards (Par 70)

Past Champions in Field
Sean O’Donnell (2020) and Rusty Brown (2018)


Full Field and Tee Times: Click Here