Annual Meeting & Player Awards

For the first time ever we held our annual meeting virtually. Hear from the awardees by watching the video below.

Watch Now: 2020 Annual Meeting

Mikayla Fitzpatrick //

Women’s Player of the Year

For the second year in a row, Phoenix-Xavier College Preparatory alum Mikayla Fitzpatrick is the AGA Women’s Player of the Year.

She won the AGA Women’s Match Play Championship at Desert Mountain, beating Madison Voissard in the final match, 4 & 3.

Fitzpatrick also finished runner-up in her first AGA Players Cup, and posted a third-place finish in the AGA Women’s Stroke Play Championship at Grayhawk Golf Club’s Talon Course, firing a three-over-par score of 219 (72-74-73).

Watch Mikayla’s Acceptance

“2020 was a crazy year for me and I’m sure for everyone else too but golf, for me, acted as an outlet.
It just felt like the most normal thing going on in my life.”

– Mikayla Fitzpatrick 2x AGA Women’s Player of the Year

Bryan Hoops //

Men’s Player of the Year / Masters Player of the Year

In addition to winning the Masters Division Player of the Year, Bryan Hoops captured the 2020 AGA Men’s Player of the Year title. He played in eight events in 2020, with a win at the Mid-Amateur Championship and three top-four finishes overall helping him get off to a fast start.

Hoops was runner-up at Southern Amateur as well as runner-up at the season-ending Players Cup. He finished fourth at the Northern Amateur after firing a final round 64.

Rounding out Bryan’s 2020 season was a tie for eighth at the Falcon Amateur and a T15 finish at the AGA Championship and AGA Four-Ball tournament, respectively.

Hoops reached the Round of 64 at the 96th Arizona Amateur Championship, and was a participant on the Arizona vs. Utah Shootout team at the Wigwam Golf Club, where he won all three of his matches for Team Arizona and nine points.

Watch Bryan’s Acceptance

“It was a tough year but at the same time it was a good year for golf. Golf allowed us to get out of the office and to get away from some of the restrictions on us instead of just sitting at home.”

– Bryan Hoops 2020 AGA Men’s POTY & Master’s POTY

Kim Eaton //

Women’s Senior Player of the Year

Kim Eaton has earned the AGA Women’s Senior Player of the Year for the eighth time in her illustrious career.

Her 2020 campaign included six events and two wins: the AGA Women’s Four-Ball Championship with Leigh Klasse and the Partners tournament with Judy Penman.

Eaton finished runner up twice in 2020, at the AGA Mid-Amateur Championship and the Women’s Senior Division of the Players Cup, and reached the semi-final round of the AGA Senior Women’s Match Play Championship

Watch Kim’s Acceptance

Rusty Brown //

Senior Player of the Year

The Senior Player of the Year for 2020 is Rusty Brown after dominating the Senior Division points list, posting six top-five finishes in nine events and winning the Senior Division of the AGA Championship.

His top-five finishes came at the Short Course and San Tan Amateur; and in the Senior Division of the Divisional Stroke Play (fifth), Southern Amateur (fourth) and Players Cup (third).

He also finished tied for 10th place in the Arizona Senior Open.

Watch Rusty’s Acceptance

Murphy Mitchell //

Legends Player of the Year

The 2020 Legends Player of the Year is Murphy Mitchell, whose 2020 run included nine events, with seven top 10 finishes.

He won the Divisional Stroke Play at TPC Scottsdale’s Champions Course in a one-hole playoff and finished tied for first in the Legends Division of the Northern Amateur, falling in a playoff.

Mitchell was also runner-up in the Legends Division of the AGA Championship, and finished tied for third in the Legends Division at the Players Cup.

He was also the medalist qualifier for the 2020 Divisional Match Play Championship in the Legends Division.

Watch Murphy’s Acceptance