Arizona Wins 50th Hogan Cup

(left to right) Scott McNevin, Jake Carlson, Tucker Clark, Mahanth Chirravuri, Gavin Aurilia
PORTLAND, Ore. (August 13, 2018) – After a second-place finish last year, team Arizona, representing the Junior Golf Association of Arizona (JGAA), won the 50th Hogan Cup, contested August 11-12 at Riverside Golf & Country Club in Portland, Ore. The win marks Arizona’s second victory in the tournament’s 50-year history with the first coming 32 years ago in 1986.
In the four-person-team format, the three lowest individual scores each day determine the team total score. Medals are awarded to the top-three teams as well as the top-three individuals.
Arizona started play on Sunday’s final round in second place, one shot behind first-round leaders San Diego. Riverside G&CC was playing noticeably tougher on Sunday, with many teams shooting higher scores than Saturday.
The squad from Arizona weathered the difficult conditions during the second round, finishing with a two-day total of 214-224 – 438 (+6). Mahanth Chirravuri and Gavin Aurilia tied for sixth place individually, finishing at 3-over par for the event. Jake Carlson and Tucker Clark finished T10 at 4-over par, 148 over the two days.
The team from Southern California, winners in 2017, finished runner-up after firing 217-224 – 441 (+9). First-round leaders San Diego earned third place, shooting 213-229 – 442 (+10).
Nate Stember (Portland, Ore.), representing Team Oregon, earned the individual title by one shot. Stember completed an unbelievable comeback on Sunday in the individual competition. After starting 4-over through his first three holes, he played the final 33 holes at 4-under par. After a 74 (+2) on Saturday, he shot a 70 (-2) on Sunday, one of just three players to finish under par during the final round. Entering play on Sunday, Stember was eight shots back. His 144 total (E) bested the field by one shot.
Three players tied for second place individually: Caden Fioroni (San Diego), Aidan Goodfellow (British Columbia) and Harrison Kingsley (Southern California). All players finished at 145 (+1) individually.
Click here for complete tournament results.
About the Eddie Hogan Cup
The event began in 1969 in commemoration of the vast achievements and contributions to the sport by Eddie Hogan, Riverside’s long-time head golf professional who served the club from 1939 until his tragic drowning death in 1968. Hogan, an Oregon Amateur champion and PNGA Amateur champion, was credited for transforming the role of the golf professional, developing what is now considered the standard for the green grass pro shop. Hogan was also dedicated in helping the Oregon Golf Association develop its widely recognized junior golf program. 
Hogan Cup alumni include tour players such as Tiger Woods, Rickie Fowler, Fred Couples, Bryson DeChambeau, Casey Martin, Peter Jacobsen, Jeff Quinney, Patrick Cantlay, Bobby Clampett, Lennie Clements, Scott Simpson, Robert Gamez, Bill Sanders, Kirk Triplett, John Fought and Jason Gore.