The Southwest PGA Match Play Championship

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. – July 13, 2018 – The 2018 Southwest PGA Match Play Championship is scheduled to take place July 16-18 at Ancala Country Club in Scottsdale, Ariz. The Section’s first major of the season begins with 60 Southwest PGA Professionals competing in a 64-player field bracket. The top four seeds received opening round byes – Michael Hopper (1), Dennis Downs (2), Matt VanCleave (3) and Craig Hocknull (4).
Defending champion, and the top seed, Hopper, 34, PGA Assistant Golf Professional at Lookout Mountain Golf Club in Phoenix, Ariz., will attempt to win his third consecutive, and fourth overall, Southwest PGA match play title (2011, 2016, 2017). Last year he defeated Marty Jertson, 37, PGA Professional and Director of Product Development for PING Golf, 1-up in the final match at Desert Forest Golf Club in Carefree, Ariz.
“I’m really looking forward to the Match Play Championship as it’s certainly one of my favorite events, if not my favorite event, to play every year,” said Hopper. “This year’s venue, Ancala Country Club, is a perfect match play golf course that could will make for some exciting finishes. I am fortunate to be the top seed but there are a lot of great players in the field and anything can happen in match play.”
This year’s field consists includes eight past champions – Chris Dompier (2010), Chris Enders (1995, 1998), Brandon Evans (2014), Hocknull (2013), Hopper, D.K. Kim (2015), Paul Trittler (2004) and Randy Wittig (2002).
The Championship gets underway with the opening round matches on Monday, July 16 at 7:30 a.m. followed by second round matches at 1:00 p.m. The round of 16 and quarterfinal matches are scheduled for Tuesday, July 17 at 7:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m., respectively. The semi-final and final matches are slated for Wednesday, July 18 at 7:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m., respectively.
With a win, Hopper would join John Jackson (1976, 1978, 1988, 1993) with the most victories in the history of the Championship. Hopper, Jackson and Tom Tatum (1982, 1985, 1992) are the only Professionals to win three or more Match Play titles. Last year Hopper became the first player to win consecutive crowns since Frank Boynton accomplished the feat (1979, 1980).
Greg Norman Collection and the PGA Tour are sponsors of the Match Play Championship.
About The Southwest Section PGA:
The Southwest Section of the PGA of America is a professional organization serving the men and women golf professionals in Arizona and Southern Nevada who are the recognized experts in growing, teaching and managing the game of golf. The Southwest PGA is responsible for the administration of competitive golf tournaments, junior golf programs and events, educational opportunities, support programs and growth of the game initiatives. With 1284 members and apprentices, the Southwest PGA is the fifth largest of the 41 regional entities or Sections that comprise the PGA of America.  For more information about the Southwest PGA, please visit and join us on social media at, and
Past Champions
1974, John Bulla
1975, Dennis Troy
1976, John Jackson
1977, Terry Dear
1978, John Jackson
1979, Frank Boynton
1980, Frank Boynton
1981, Bruce Ashworth
1982, Tom Tatum
1983, Bruce Ashworth
1984, Bob Phillips
1985, Tom Tatum
1986, Steve Jones
1987, Doug Hoskins
1988, John Jackson
1989, Doug Hoskins
1990, John Dodd
1991, Jay Lumpkin
1992, Tom Tatum
1993, John Jackson
1994, Mark Gurnow
1995, Chris Enders
1996, Mike Wright
1997, Greg Avant
1998, Chris Enders
1999, Bob Blean
2000, Dennis LeDonne
2001, Mike Schwartz
2002, Randy Wittig
2003, Dean Vomacka
2004, Paul Trittler
2005, Don Yrene
2006, Ken Carpenter
2007, Not Contested
2008, Not Contested
2009, Drew Reid
2010, Chris Dompier
2011, Michael Hopper
2012, Glen Griffith
2013, Craig Hocknull
2014, Brandon Evans
2015, Dong Kyu “DK” Kim
2016, Michael Hopper
2017, Michael Hopper
Multiple Victories
John Jackson (1976, 1978, 1988, 1993)
Michael Hopper (2011, 2016, 2017)
Tom Tatum (1982, 1985, 1992)
Bruce Ashworth (1981, 1983)
Frank Boynton (1979, 1980)
Chris Enders (1995, 1998)
Doug Hoskins (1987, 1989)