2016 AGA Annual Meeting

The AGA held its 2016 Annual Meeting and Awards Dinner February 10 at Phoenix Country Club.
During the Business Meeting, reports were presented about the AGA activities for 2015:
President’s Report – Bill Lich
Financial Report – Tim Brown, Treasurer
USGA Services – Derek McKenzie
Tournaments – Ed Gowan
Member Outreach – Alex Tsakiris
Marketing & Business Development – Chris Montgomery

Mike Sweeney, Western Region Director for the USGA presented a report on USGA activities and their recent Annual Meeting which was held, Saturday, February 6 at the del Coronado Hotel in San Diego.
The meeting finished with a report by Drew Woods, Chairman of the Nominating Committee and the announcement of the 2016 Executive Committee.
Three members retired – Mike Langston, Paige Peterson and Rick Rarick.
One new member was appointed – Judy Polidori from Alta Mesa Country Club.
Two members were elected by the delegates – Mark Jeffery from Superstition Mountain Golf Club and Ryan Johnson from the Arizona Golf Association Club.
Executive Committee members continuing in 2016 are Mike McWilliams – 1st Vice President, Bill Burgesser – 2nd Vice President, Mike Saladino – Secretary, Tim Brown – Treasurer, Kevin Cruikshank, Lee Decof, Mike Kane, Bill Phipps, Robert McNichols and Matt Witzke.

The Awards dinner immediately followed and for the 23rd year, Jim Frazier was the Master of Ceremonies. You never quite know what is going to come out of his mouth, but one thing’s for sure – it’s going to be entertaining. No one is safe from his razor-sharp wit.
It was a night to honor our 2015 Award winners:
Updegraff Award: John Souza
Volunteer of the Year Aware: Roger Waterer
Player of the Year: Ken Tanigawa
Mayfair Award Winner: Blaine Skaggs
Masters Division Player of the Year: Rick Bojalad
Senior Player of the Year: Murphy Mitchell
Legens Player of the Year: Terry Beels
2016 Honorary Captain: Dennis Walsh

Click here to see photos of the evening