2013 Year in Review

Updegraff Award: Christi Dickinson

Established in 1990, the Updegraff Award is the AGA’s highest honor given in recognition of those who, by their actions, exemplify the spirit of the game. The award is named for Dr. Ed Updegraff of Tucson, honoring his lifetime contributions and dedication to amateur golf in Arizona.
Chrisit Dickinson, the 2013 recipient of this award, has been selflessly giving back to the game of golf almost her entire adult life. She is a member at Paradise Valley CC.

Christi has a profound love for the rules. She attended countless USGA/PGA Rules schools since 1985 and is considered an expert having achieved a score of 92 on the test for most of those years. That knowledge has served her well- in 1993 she was invited to sit on the US Women’s Mid-Amateur Committee and later on the USGA Women’s Committee. She has been Chairman of the Women’s Amateur Public Links Championship, the Women’s State Team and has officiated at the Men’s Open, Women’s Open, Women’s Amateur, Girls and Boys Junior, British Women’s Open, World Amateur and Curtis Cup.

Chrisit became the first female member of the AGA Board of Directors in 1996 and in 2001 its first female president. Following her term, she has served as a member of the Council of Past Presidents, President of the Arizona Golf Foundation and Chairman of the Arizona Golf Hall of Fame.

During the many years we’ve known Christi, she has always displayed those qualities that this award stands for; honesty, integrity, and humility. One doesn’t dedicate that much time, money and energy serving a game without loving that game.

We are privileged to have Chrisit join the ranks of those that have been honored and forever linked to the man affectionately known as Dr. Ed

Doc Graves Volunteer of the Year: John Ranslem

Each year the AGA staff honors an individual (other than an executive committee member) who most exemplifies volunteerism through his or her commitment of time and effort to the association. In 2010, this award was named after Robert “Doc” Graves, a long-time AGA volunteer who exemplifies the selfless contributions of time and dedication to serving golf in Arizona.
In 2012, we honored John Ranslem with this prestigious award. He moved to Scottsdale sixteen years ago from the Houston area after a long and successful career as the Vice President of Human Resources for the Chevron Chemical Company. Upon moving to Arizona, John immediately started volunteering with the AGA.

John started as tournament volunteer in April 1997, and has been working tournaments since then. He wanted to expand his opportunities so he became a rules official and has attended five USGA/PGA Rules workshops.

When the AGA created the Board of Governors in 2000; John was placed on the committee. With his HR background he put together a Skills Inventory of all the Directors and Volunteers. Following that he led a team and put together a Volunteer Development Program from which several ideas were implemented. Proving that he had skills that benefited the AGA, John became the unofficial Volunteer Coordinator.

John served on the Executive Committee for nine years with three of those years being spent as the chair of the Member Services Committee. He was also instrumental in starting the Senior Cup Series and has chaired that committee for nine years.

The AGA is extremely appreciative of John’s strengths and support over the past 18 years and we look forward to many more years of having you as a part of the Arizona golf family.

Player of the Year: Trey Martin

Trey Martin had an outstanding 2013 season. Sitting atop of the points list with 905 points, he met the criteria for player of the Year consideration. A win at the Tempe Amateur, qualifying for the US amateur and US Mid-Amateur and consistent play including six top eight finishers in AGA tournaments, earned the title for Trey.
Trey represented the Arizona Golf Association on the Bob Goldwater Cup, Arizona/Utah Shootout and Southwest Challenge Teams.

2013 Accomplishments: Leader- Open Performance Points-905, Winner-2013 Tempe Amateur, Medalist-US Amateur Qualifying, Qualifier- US Mid-Amateur

Masters Player of the Year: Laurie Warder

Player of the year in the Masters Divsion was a lock for Laurie Warder who was the Arizona Senior Stroke Play Championship follower by another win at the Arizona Senior Stroke Play Championship followe another win at the Arizona Senior Match Play Championship, both major divisional events. A former professional tennis player, Wander has certainly found his way to the golf course.
2013 Accomplishments: Winner- Senior Stroke Play, Winner- Senior Match Play, 3rd- Masters Performance Points-565

Senior Player of the Year: Mark Coward

After regaining his amateur status in 2013, Mark found his stride quickly in AGA events by winning the Senior Stroke Play Championship. Continuing to prove he could play at a high level, Coward finished runner up in the Senior Match Play Championship in his division. Even though he was plagued by neck issues throughout the year, Coward played through the pain to compete on the Goldwater Cup Team.

Winner – Senior Stroke Play Runner up-Senior Match Play T15- Arizona Mid-Amateur

Legends Player of the Year: David Rasley The leader of the performance Points Ranking for the legends division, David Rasley played well in the Divisional Championships, winning the Senior Match Play Championship and finishing 3rd in the Senior Stroke Play Championship. He ended his 2013 campaign with a victory at the Inaugural Cup Championship. Rasley also represented the AGA as a member of the Goldwater Cup Team.

2013 ACCOMPLISHMENTS Leader- AGA Legends Performance Points – 743 Winner- Senior Match Play Championship Winner-Inaugural Players Cup-Legends Divison 2nd Short Course Tournament 2nd- Northern Divisonal Four-Ball 3rd Senior Stroke Play

Mayfair Award: Peter Kyo Won Koo – 62.62 Scoring Average

The Mayfair Award is presented to the AGA member with the lowest stroke average from selected events during the season. To qualify, a contestant must: 1) Compete in at least one USGA qualifying round in AZ AND at least two AGA individual major championships, or 2) Compete in at least one USGA qualifying round in AZ AND at least one AGA individual major championship AND the NCAA Finals. Additional individual competitions that count toward this award are the Pacific Coast and Southwestern Amateurs (when contested in AZ), AZ Open, PING AZ Intercollegiate, ASU Thunderbird Invitational and the U.S. Open, Amateur, Mid-Amateur & Junior Amateurs. A contestant must return a minimum of twelve 18-hole scores from all above listed competitions and all rounds will be used to determine the scoring average.
Peter satisfied the eligibility requirements posting 13 rounds from the following tournaments: Arizona Amateur Championship; Arizona Stroke Play Championship; Arizona Public Links Championship; US Public Links Qualifier; US Public Links Championship

Peter will be playing for the University of Arizona in the fall of 2014