99th Annual Southwestern Amateur at Desert Mountain

Sandy Painter Desert Mountain Club, Inc. 602-329-4101

Arizona lead the way at the Southwestern Amateur finishing in the top two spots.
Congratulations to Kyle Jones who won the 99th Annual Southwestern Amateur at Desert Mountain!
Kyle Jones of Taylor, Ariz., won the 99th Annual Southwestern Amateur June 7 at the Desert Mountain Club in Scottsdale, Ariz. Jones, who opened with a 68/67 in the first and second rounds, went 66/67 on the weekend to win by two.
Jones, who will be a senior at Baylor in the fall and is ranked No. 38 on Golfweek’s men’s college individual rankings, edged out Zachary Wright of Phoenix with an eagle three on the 72nd hole. Wright, who will be a junior at LSU, finished second shooting 66/65 in the first two rounds and 68/71 in the final rounds.
Brigham Young University senior Justin Keiley of Provo, Utah, shot 68/67 in the first two rounds and a pair of 69s on the weekend to take third place.
The tournament was held June 4-7 on the Cochise course. The full field of 144 players, including 27 from Arizona, came from 31 states and 11 countries, and represented 98 colleges, universities and community colleges. Desert Mountain will host the tournament through 2016.
The Southwestern Golf Association is a non-profit organization that supports the tournament and promotes golf in the Southwest.