AZ Sports Hall of Fame announces 2011 inductees

(PHOENIX) — The Phoenix Regional Sports Commission and the Phoenix Suns Gorilla announced today the 2011 class to the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame, which will include former NFL player Randall McDaniel, World Champion rodeo cowboy Ty Murray, former MLB pitcher Curt Schilling and Olympic gymnast Kerri Strug. The Gorilla will serve as the Community Chairperson of this year’s induction ceremony. The Hall of Fame honors athletes, coaches and administrators who have made significant contributions to Arizona sports. For the first time, a team will be inducted into the Hall of Fame and will be selected by a public vote. People can vote for their choice on the Sports Commission website,, until February 15. The final vote nominees include:

1975 – Arizona State University Football team – Undefeated at 11-0 and won the Fiesta Bowl over Nebraska 17-14.
1992-93 – Phoenix Suns NBA Finals runner up, losing the finals in six games to the Chicago Bulls.
1994 – Arizona Rattlers coached by Danny White won their first of two Arena Bowl Championships.
1996-97 – University of Arizona Wildcats basketball team won the NCAA National Championship by becoming the first team to defeat three #1 seeds. This was Coach Lute Olson’s only national title.
2001 – Arizona Diamondbacks won the World Series in seven games over the New York Yankees with a walk-off hit by Luis Gonzalez off of Mariano Rivera.
2007 – Phoenix Mercury won their first of two WNBA Championships in five games over the Detroit Shock. Cappie Pondexter was the finals MVP.
2008-09 season – Arizona Cardinals NFC Champions and Super Bowl runners-up, led the Pittsburgh Steelers late in the fourth quarter but fell 27-23. The game was the second most watched Super Bowl ever.

The Arizona Sports Hall of Fame was founded in 1957 by the Phoenix Press Box Association. The Association held 36 induction ceremonies before ceasing operations in 1991. The Sports Commission assumed custodianship of the Hall of Fame and held inductions in 1999, 2001 and 2002. The Sports Commission re-launched the Hall of Fame in 2009 as its largest annual fundraiser. The honorees will be recognized during the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on March 31 at 3 p.m. at Wild Horse Pass Hotel and Casino. Use special promotion code H7JKZ9YRJ8 to receive a $25 discount on general admission tickets through January 28. The Sports Commission will also host a celebrity-am golf tournament on March 30 at Longbow Golf Club. For more information on the Hall of Fame, or to purchase tickets to the golf tournament or induction ceremony, visit About the Phoenix Regional Sports Commission A 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation, the Phoenix Regional Sports Commission was created in 1988. The mission of the Sports Commission is to “Enrich Our Community Through Sports” by representing the citizens of the Valley to bring national and international sporting events to the state, assist in the promotion of existing events and teams, and support youth sports programs. To learn more about the Sports Commission, please visit