Arizona Golf Hall of Fame announces 2010 inductees

Christi Dickinson, chairman of the Arizona Golf Hall of Fame, announces the 2010 inductees:  Dana Garmany of Scottsdale, Fred Hickle of Tucson, Sandy LaBauve of Scottsdale and Rick Rarick Sr. of Tucson. The four will be inducted Monday, Nov. 22 at Gainey Ranch Golf Club, 7600 Gainey Club Dr. in Scottsdale.
The induction ceremony will begin at 5 p.m. with cocktails and a light dinner. A pro-am shotgun will be held earlier in the day, beginning at 12 p.m., which is open to all Arizona golfers. To attend the ceremony only, the cost will be $35 per person. Golf and induction ceremony will cost $175 per person. To sign up go to and complete the entry form. The Hall of Fame selectors committee, consisting of representatives from Arizona Golf Association, Arizona Women’s Golf Association, Cactus and Pine Superintendents Association, Junior Golf Association of Arizona and Southwest Section PGA, presented eight candidates to a 40-member voting committee. The four individuals selected  had the highest ballot returns.  
Hall of Fame inductee biographies: Dana Garmany has been named one of the most powerful and influential people in golf by both Golf Inc. and Golf Digest. In the most recent rankings by Golf Inc., Garmany was rated as the second most powerful and influential person in the golf industry, behind only Jack Nicklaus. Garmany founded Troon Golf Management in 1990 with his first property, the renowned Troon North Golf Club in Scottsdale. Under Garmany’s leadership, Troon Golf has grown to become the leader in upscale golf course management, development and marketing, encompassing nearly 200 golf courses in 26 countries and 31 states. Fred Hickle was the only Arizonan to ever serve on the USGA’s executive committee. He currently serves on the Association’s Senior Amateur and green sections committees, and previously served on the Mid-Amateur and sectional affairs committees. His service to the USGA dates back to 1983. He was instrumental in protecting the integrity of the USGA Handicap system and equipment rules by assisting the USGA’s legal counsel during several tense confrontations. On a more local level, Hickle was a member of the Arizona Golf Association’s board of directors from 1976 until completing his presidency in 1989. During that time he was involved with the development and expansion of the organization’s tournament program, most notably in retaining the walking tradition in the Arizona Stroke Play. 
Sandy LaBauve is a Class A member of both the PGA and LPGA, an instructor for the LaBauve Golf Academy and the teaching professional at Kierland Golf Club. She founded and serves as creative consultant for LPGA-USGA Girls Golf. LaBauve authored the operations manual and numerous magazine articles for Golf Digest magazine, including cover issues in February 1997, March 1998 and February 1999 (Golf Digest Woman). 
LaBauve served on the National PGA teaching and awards committees, as well as the Titleist and Foot-Joy women’s advisory board. She has also garnered many accolades including: 1991 Western Section LPGA co-teacher of the year, Golf Magazine top 100 instructors in the country, 1994 Golf Digest individual winner for best junior golf program, 1994 PGA of America national junior golf leader of the year and 1995 Card Walker Award, given by the PGA Tour for outstanding contributions to junior golf.  Rick Rarick Sr. created one of the country’s most significant junior golf development programs some 55 years ago. It didn’t matter whether or not youngsters had clubs or knew how to play the game; Rarick would find a sponsor and get them on the course. He also almost single-handedly ran the Tucson Open for two decades. It was his work with the Tucson Open that earned him the title “Mr. Golf.” He ran the tournament from 1945 until the Tucson Conquistadores took over its sponsorship in 1965 and with it, annual funding for the Ricki Rarick Junior Golf Program. Born in Iowa, he was the youngest golf professional in the state when he turned pro at the age of 17. His pro career was interrupted by World War II, during which he suffered a broken back, neck and ankle when he was shot down over the North Sea on a bombing mission in 1941. He spent 11 months as a prisoner of war before he was rescued. During his service career Rarick earned a Silver Star, a distinguished flying medal, an Air Force medal and two Purple Hearts.
# # #