Arizona represented at 44th Pacific Coast Amateur

Scottsdale’s Philip Francis, Anthem’s Scott Pinckney, Nogales’ Alberto Sanchez, Phoenix’s Charlie Marusiak and Chandler’s Garrett Iverson will compete in the 44th Pacific Coast Amateur Championship, one of the nation’s premiere amateur golf events, July 27 through 30 at Eugene Country Club in Oregon. The field for the 72-hole stroke-play event is comprised of amateur golfers from the 16 associations that make up the Pacific Coast Golf Association as well as a select number of invitees from around the world. Players play all four rounds in the individual competition; live scoring will be available at In addition to the individual competition, each association names three representatives that will comprise its team in the annual Morse Cup Team Competition, with the best two of three scores in each of the first two rounds counting for the team total. Philip Francis, Scott Pinckney and Alberto Sanchez will represent the Arizona Golf Association in the Morse Cup Team Competition. Pinckney recently won the 107th Trans-Mississippi Championship. The field will include Northeast Amateur champion Joseph Bramlett of Saratoga, Calif., three collegiate conference winners, three former United States Golf Association champions, and a large number of current and former state and regional champions from throughout the U.S. and Canada. Bramlett, who recently graduated from Stanford University, won the Northeast Amateur by two shots at Wannamoisett Country Club in Rumford, RI. Bramlett shot rounds of 69-68-66-67 — 270, six under par at the venerable par-69 layout. Bramlett, now fully recovered after battling wrist injuries for two years, recently competed in the U.S. Open at Pebble Beach and was a member of the 2007 NCAA champion Cardinal team. The 2010 conference champions in the field are:

Eric Mina of Fremont, Calif.: A junior at Cal, Mina came from four shots off the lead entering the final round to win the 2010 Pac-10 individual title at Karsten Golf Course in Tempe, Ariz. Mina was the only golfer to shoot in the 60s for all four rounds: 65-68-67-68 — 266, 16 under par.
David Lipsky of La Cañada, Calif.: Lipsky, a junior, became the second consecutive Northwestern University golfer to win the Big Ten individual title at Windsong Farm Golf Club in Minneapolis, Minn. Lipsky shot 67-72-71-71 — 281, 7 under par, and won by two shots.
Tim Madigan of Rio Rancho, NM: A junior at New Mew Mexico State, Madigan was 14-under-par (202) at Rio Seco Golf Club in Henderson, Nev. in becoming the second consecutive Aggie to win the WAC individual title.

  The three former USGA champions entered in the Pacific Coast Amateur are:

Kevin Marsh of Henderson, Nev.: Marsh won the 2005 U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship at The Honors Course in Chattanooga, Tenn., defeating Carlton Forrester 10 & 9 in championship match. Marsh, a former two-time Southern California Golf Association champion, also played in the 2006 Masters by virtue of his USGA Mid-Am win. A two-time winner of the Southern California GA (SCGA) Amateur Championship, Marsh reached the semifinals of last week’s California Amateur.
Phillip Francis of Scottsdale, Ariz.: Francis won the 2006 U.S. Junior Amateur at Rancho Santa Fe (Calif.) Golf Club, defeating Richard Lee, 3 & 2, in the final match. He’s a redshirt junior at Arizona State University.
Cameron Peck of Olympia, Wash.: Peck won the 2008 U.S. Junior Amateur, defeating Evan Beck, 10 & 8, at Shoal Creek Golf Club in Alabama. He’s now a sophomore at Texas A&M.

This year’s Pacific Coast Amateur will be the seventh time that the championship will have been played at Eugene Country Club. (The Olympic Club in San Francisco has also hosted the event seven times.) The last time the Pacific Coast Amateur was played at Eugene Country Club was in 2004 when Michael Putnam sank a six-foot birdie putt on the second extra hole to defeat Spencer Levin of Elk Grove, Calif., and Andrew Martin of Melbourne, the only three-man playoff in the tournament’s history. Founded in 1899, Eugene Country Club purchased its current 146-acre site in 1923 and legendary amateur golfer H. Chandler Egan laid out the club’s first 18-hole course. In 1967, Robert Trent Jones, Sr. remodeled the course, in part by reversing the routing into the magnificent layout it is today. In addition to the six previous Pacific Coast Amateurs, the club was also the site of the 1993 U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship, the 1964 U.S. Junior Amateur (won by Johnny Miller), the 2002 U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur, and the 1959 and 1978 NCAA Division I Championships. It has also hosted dozens of state and regional championships.