News

Ball Overhanging a Hole

FROM USOPEN.COM
Occasionally, a player will stroke a putt and it seemingly doesn’t have enough gas to get into the hole, or does it? This was the situation Jim Furyk encountered during the first round of the U.S. Open.
Fortunately, we have a rule to help you determine when your ball is at rest when it overhangs the hole – Rule 16-2.
Essentially, Rule 16-2 tells us what a player is allowed to do. He’s permitted enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay AND an additional 10 seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest. If the ball hasn’t fallen into the hole by then, it is deemed to be at rest. If the ball subsequently falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke and must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole.
The USGA’s website has a great video to help further explain this Rule. Click here to view it.