AGA Tournaments: Get in the Game

By Scott McNevin

There are many opportunities for AGA members to get involved in AGA Tournaments throughout the year. As long as you are an AGA member, you are eligible to play in AGA events.
The AGA has five majors every year. The Arizona Amateur, AZ Stroke Play Championship, AZ Publinks Championship, AZ Mid-Amateur and the Arizona Four Ball are the crown jewels of the AGA tournament schedule. 
The Arizona Amateur and AZ Stroke Play are such large events, that every year there are 4-5 qualifiers to help fill the field out. These two events are the premier tournaments on the AGA tournament schedule.
Some of the other events throughout the year include the San Tan Amateur, Western Amateur, Southern Amateur, Falcon Amateur and Northern Amateur. All of these events are played at Gross, but players will be flighted according to their handicap. Competitors can compete against players of similar skill levels in their flight, and can win merchandise if they finish well in their flight. 
For Seniors, the AGA offers Divisional events. There are three separate age divisions to compete in. The Masters (45-54 years old), Seniors (55-64) and Legends (65 and older) are the three divisions where players can compete against players their own age. The AZ Divisional Match Play, AZ Divisional Stroke Play, Northern Divisional Four Ball, Southern Divisional Four Ball and East Valley Divisional Four Ball are some of the events on the Divisional Schedule. 

Top Eight Reasons to Play in AGA Tournaments 

Test your skills against the top amateurs in the state
Play great golf courses
Opportunities to travel
Meet new people
Opportunity to qualify for other state, regional, national and international golf events
Cool golf prizes
It’s Fun!!